2013

Below are the winners of the 2013 Academy of Chocolate Awards. For more information about the awards contact Fiona Gately – fiona@nourish.uk.com

 

Best Dark Chocolate Bean-To-Bar

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Amedei Blanco de Criollo Gold www.amedei.com
Amedei Cru – Madagascar Gold www.amedei.com
Bar au Chocolat Chiapas, Mexico 70% Gold barauchocolat.com
Bar au Chocolat Sambirano Vallley, Madagascar 70% Gold barauchocolat.com
Original Beans Original Beans Beni Wild Harvest 60% Silver originalbeans.com
Akesson’s Organic Madagascar 75% Criollo cocoa Silver akessons-organic.com
Amano Chocolate Company Chuao 70% Dark Chocolate Silver www.amanochocolate.com
Amedei Amedei 9 Silver www.amedei.com
Amedei Toscano Black 63% Silver www.amedei.com
Hotel Chocolat Rabot Marcial 70% Silver www.hotelchocolat.com
Marou, Faiseurs de Chocolat Tien Giang 70% Silver www.marouchocolate.com
Michel Cluizel Mokaya 66% Silver www.cluizel.com
Potomac Chocolate San Martín 70% Silver www.potomacchocolate.com
Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I. Tobago Estate Chocolate 70% Silver tobagococoa.com
Marou, Faiseurs de Chocolat Ben Tre 78% Bronze www.marouchocolate.com
Oialla A/S Oialla Dark Chocolate 72% Bronze oialla.com

 

Best House Dark Bar

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Bachmanns Patisserie Felchlin Maracaibo 65% Bronze www.bachmanns.co.uk
Konzept PFB Cru Orinoco Bronze www.idilio.ch
Szántó Tibor Fine Chocolates House blend superior dark chocolate70% Bronze www.szantotibor.com
William & Suzue Curley House Dark 65% Bronze www.williamcurley.com

 

Best Flavoured Dark Chocolate Bar

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Akesson’s Organic Madagascar 75% chocolate and Voatsiperifery pepper Gold akessons-organic.com
Amedei Prendimé dark chocolate with hazelnuts Gold www.amedei.com
Akesson’s Organic Madagascar 75% chocolate and black pepper Silver akessons-organic.com
Akesson’s Organic Madagascar 75% chocolate and pink pepper Silver akessons-organic.com
Beschle Ginger Silver www.beschle.ch
Grenada Chocolate Company Nib-a-Licious Silver www.grenadachocolate.com
Amedei Dark chocolate with almonds Bronze www.amedei.com
Cinagra/Menakao Menakao 63 % Cocoa Nibs & Madagascan Sea Salt Bronze www.menakao.com
Rózsavölgyi Csokoládé Olives and Bread Bronze www.rozsavolgyi.com

 

Best Milk Chocolate Bean-To-Bar

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Redstar Chocolate Duffy’s Venezuela Ocumare Milk Gold redstarchocolate.co.uk
Oialla A/S Oialla Milk Chocolate 46% Silver oialla.com
TCHO Serious Milk – Classic Silver www.tcho.com
Pralus SAS Tablette Mélissa 100g Bronze www.chocolats-pralus.com

 

Best Flavoured Milk Chocolate Bar

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Amedei Prendimé chocolate with hazelnuts Gold www.amedei.com
Akesson’s Organic Bali 45% Milk Chocolate with fleur de sel and coconut blossom sugar Gold akessons-organic.com
Michel Cluizel Caramel 45% Gold www.cluizel.com
Beschle Tonka Orange Silver www.beschle.ch
Pralus SAS Barre Infernale Lait 160g Silver www.chocolats-pralus.com
Rococo Chocolates Organic Milk Chocolate Rose Otto Artisan Bar Silver www.rococochocolates.com
TCHO Mokaccino Bronze www.tcho.com
Redstar Chocolate Duffy’s Milk Chocolate with Salt and Nibs Bronze redstarchocolate.co.uk
Rococo Chocolates Organic Milk Chocolate Sea Salt Artisan Bar Bronze www.rococochocolates.com
Valrhona Enchantillon Caramelia Bronze www.valrhona.com

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Plain

Manufacturer Product Award Link
William and Suzue Curley Chuao Gold www.williamcurley.com
Coworth Park Hotel Dark Chocolate Bronze www.coworthpark.com
Demarquette Lost Kingdom Bronze www.demarquette.com
Iain Burnett, Highland Chocolatier Velvet Truffle, Mild Bronze www.highlandchocolatier.com

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Fruit

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Paul A Young Passion Fruit Curd Gold www.paulayoung.co.uk
Lauden Sicilian Lemon Silver www.laudenchocolate.com
Cocoa Red Rhubarb and Ginger Bronze www.cocoared.com
William and Suzue Curley Yuzu Bronze www.williamcurley.com

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Spices & Herbs

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Matcha Ginger and Lemongrass Gold matchachocolat.com
Coworth Park Spekuloos, Orange and Tonka Gold www.coworthpark.com
Boutique Aromatique Garden Mint & Sweet Basil Silver www.boutiquearomatique.com
William and Suzue Curley Rosemary and olive oil Silver www.williamcurley.com

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Alcohol

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Theo Chocolate Talisker Ganache Confection Gold www.theochocolate.com
Papa Chocolat Winston Silver papachocolat.ca
Hotel Chocolat Pink Champagne Truffle Bronze www.hotelchocolat.com

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Nuts

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Matcha chocolat Peanut Butter Praline Gold matchachocolat.com
Rococo Salted chocolate toffee and crunchy praline Gold www.rococochocolates.com
Amedei Quadrotti dark chocolate praline Bronze www.amedei.com
Pralus Barre Infernale Pistache Bronze www.chocolats-pralus.com
TCHO Classic Serious-Milk + New American Gianduja Bronze www.tcho.com

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Caramel

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Forte Chocolates Caramel with Rosemary and Orange Gold www.fortechocolates.com
Rococo Chocolates Kalamansi Lime Caramel Gold www.rococochocolates.com
Rococo Chocolates Passion Fruit & Rosemary Caramel Gold www.rococochocolates.com
William and Suzue Curley Muscovado Caramel Gold www.williamcurley.com
Benjamin Chocolatier Muscovado Caramel Silver benjaminchocolatier.co.uk
Matcha Chocolat Tonka Bean Caramel Silver matchachocolat.com
Paul A Young Sea salted caramel Silver www.paulayoung.co.uk
Toot-Sweets Shropshire Chocolates Salted Caramel Silver www.tootsweetschocolates.co.uk
Coworth Park Hotel Caramel with Halen Mon vanilla sea salt Bronze www.coworthpark.com
Demarquette White Monkey Jasmine Caramel Bronze www.demarquette.com
Forte Chocolates Chipotle Caramel with Orange Bronze www.fortechocolates.com
Keith Hurdman for Thortons Exotic Fruit Caramel Bronze www.thorntons.co.uk

 

Best Filled Chocolate – Other

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Co Couture Ginger Crème 40% Gold www.cocouture.co.uk
William and Suzue Curley Japanese Black Vinegar Gold www.williamcurley.com
Boutique Aromatique Coffee, Cardamom, Bitter Almond Silver www.boutiquearomatique.com
Boutique Aromatique Honeyed, Hand-blended Chai Silver www.boutiquearomatique.com
Co Couture Belfast Brew 40% Silver www.cocouture.co.uk
Coworth Park Hotel Cherry Blossom, Sudachi, Ginger Silver www.coworthpark.com
Melt Chocolates Flat White Coffee Silver www.meltchocolates.com
Paul A Young Banoffee pie truffle Bronze www.paulayoung.co.uk
Co Couture Fresh Mint 70% Bronze www.cocouture.co.uk
Co Couture Irish Whiskey 68% Bronze www.cocouture.co.uk
Hotel Chocolat Jasmine Spring Tips Ganache Bronze www.hotelchocolat.com
Iain Burnett, Highland Chocolatier Velvet Truffle, Duchesse Rose Bronze www.highlandchocolatier.com
Matcha Chocolat Strawberry & Pink Peppercorn Bronze matchachocolat.com

 

Best Unflavoured Dark Truffle

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Rococo Chocolates Madagascar house truffle Gold www.rococochocolates.com
William and Suzue Curley Venezuelan Gold www.williamcurley.com
Matcha Chocolat Dominican Republic Silver matchachocolat.com
Matcha Chocolat Santo Domingo Silver matchachocolat.com
Beschle Maracaibo Bronze www.beschle.ch

 

Best Unflavoured Milk Truffle

Manufacturer Product Award Link
William and Suzue Curley House Milk Gold www.williamcurley.com
Matcha Chocolat New Guinea Gold matchachocolat.com
Matcha Chocolat Grenada Bronze matchachocolat.com

 

Best Packaging – Bars

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Marou, Faiseurs de Chocolat Tien Giang 80% special edition blue wrapper Gold www.marouchocolate.com
Original Beans Original Beans The Story of Cacao in Four Bars Gold originalbeans.com
Pralus SAS Napolitains 120g Silver www.chocolats-pralus.com
Raw Goodies Arriba Nacional 70% (using upcycled books and magazines) Bronze www.rawgoodies.co.uk
Rózsavölgyi Csokoládé Trincheras 95% wrapper Bronze www.rozsavolgyi.com
TCHO Mokkacino and other bars Bronze www.tcho.com

 

Best Packaging – Filled Chocolate

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Cacao Atlanta Chocolate Co 12 piece Truffle Box Gold www.cacaoatlanta.com
Chuao Chocolatier 5pc bonbon box, 30pc bonbon box Silver chuaochocolatier.com
Gmeiner Confiserie & Kaffeehausunternehmen Luxury Champagne Truffle Box Silver www.chocolatier.de
Devnaa LLP, London Double signature chocolate tiffin box Bronze www.devnaa.com
Rococo Chocolates Rococo Advent Calendar Bronze www.rococochocolates.com

 

Best Unflavoured Drinking Chocolate

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Bettys & Taylors of Harrogate Drinking Chocolate Gold www.bettysandtaylors.co.uk
Kokoa Collection White Hot Chocolate Silver www.kokoacollection.co.uk
TCHO Drinking Chocolate Silver www.tcho.com
William & Suzue Curley House Blend Hot Chocolate Silver www.williamcurley.com
Iain Burnett, Highland Chocolatier Hot Chocolate Ganache Bronze www.highlandchocolatier.com
Kokoa Collection Classic Hot Chocolate Bronze www.kokoacollection.co.uk
Wild Sweets by Dominique & Cindy Duby Emulsion Extra Sec 70% Cocoa Hot Chocolate Bronze www.dcduby.com

 

Best Flavoured Drinking Chocolate

Manufacturer Product Award Link
Beschle Orange Hot Chocolate Silver www.beschle.ch
Devna LLP Chai Masala Blend Drinking Chocolate Silver www.devnaa.com
William and Suzue Curley Gianduja Dark Chocolate SIlver www.williamcurley.com
Jaz & Jul’s Orangeytang Bronze www.jazandjuls.co.uk
Confiserie Coppeneur et Compangnon GmbH [tchocolate] on a stick Bronze www.coppeneur.de

 

If you’re interested in entering the awards in the future please see this year’s entry form to give you an idea of what you’ll need to do

AoC_AwardsBooklet_and_Entry_Form_2013